Visit our International websites:
Statehood: Utah became the 45th state on January 4, 1896
Capital: Salt Lake City
Population: 2,700,000 (2010)
Size: 84,900 sq. miles / 219,900 sq. km. To put this into perspective, Utah is roughly the same size as the United Kingdom, twice as large as Cuba, one-third the size of France, five times larger than the Netherlands, and a little over half the size of Japan!
Utah Emblem: Beehive
Brand: "Life Elevated®"
Native Tribes: Shoshone, Ute, Goshute, Paiute, Navajo
Time Zone - Utah is in the Mountain Standard Time Zone (GMT - 7 Hours). The state observes Daylight Saving Time. In 2012, Daylight Saving Time begins on March 11th and ends on November 4th.
Utah Important Phone Numbers and Websites
Division of Emergency Services: 801-538-3400
Taxes - Sales tax around Utah is typically between 6.5 - 7.0% with some exceptions. Salt Lake County sales tax is 6.85% and the statewide food tax is 3.0%.
Currency Exchange - To exchange your currency to the U.S. Dollar, you may visit any Zion's Bank. There is one located in downtown Salt Lake City, at One South Main Street. 801-844-7000. ATM Machines are available everywhere.
Liquor Laws - The legal age for the purchase and consumption of alcoholic beverages is 21 years old. Proof of age is required. Liquor stores sell packaged alcohol between Monday and Saturday, with hours varying by location. Stores typically open at 11 a.m. Most restaurants, bars and nightclubs are licensed to serve a full line of beverages during working hours; some have permits to sell beer and wine only.
- By law, you must be 19 or older to purchase tobacco products in the state of Utah. As part of the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act, smoking is prohibited in all enclosed indoor places of public access and publicly owned building and offices, with a few exceptions. More information, including these exceptions, can be found here: http://le.utah.gov/UtahCode/section.jsp?code=26-38
Air Transportation - Airports
Ground Transportation - Car Rental
Utah Transit Authority (UTA) www.rideUTA.com
. UTA includes many public transportation services in the Salt Lake area, including bus service, the light rail system (TRAX), as well as Front Runner, Utah's first commuter rail line.
Front Runner connects Salt Lake, Davis and Weber counties with stations in Salt Lake City, Woods Cross, Farmington, Layton, Roy and Ogden.
UTA offers a service that bridges Salt Lake City and Park City called Park City Connect. Summit County stops will include multiple ski resorts, the Park City Transit Center, Kimball Junction businesses and Jeremy Ranch. Salt Lake City stops will include Salt Lake Central Station and the University of Utah.
UTA also offers a Ski Bus Service which connects four ski resorts (Alta, Brighton, Solitude and Snowbird) with the Salt Lake City valley. This service typically runs from mid-December to mid-April.
provides daily bus service between Salt Lake City and Richfield, via Salina, Centerfield, Gunnison, Manti, Ephraim, Mt Pleasant, Fairview, Moroni, Nephi, Spanish Fork, and Provo. Or, maybe you want to visit the “Gateway to Canyon Country” in Blanding or Utah State Eastern in Price. Either way, check out Elevated Transit. Take our bus from Salt Lake to Blanding with stops in Provo, Spanish Fork, Price, Green River, Moab, and Monticello.
All drivers must have a valid driving license and must be 16 years of age or older to operate a vehicle in Utah.
All drivers and passengers in a vehicle must wear a seatbelt and children from birth through four years of age must be properly restrained in an approved car seat.
Text messaging is outlawed for all Utah drivers. Drivers who talk on a cell phone, and who participate in "careless driving" as a result may receive a moving violation.
Utah's Interstate I-15 near Salt Lake City has an HOV lane, and any vehicle driving in that lane must have two or more passengers total.
The Utah freeway speed limit is 75 miles per hour (120 km) in rural areas, and 65 miles per hour (104 km) in urban areas, unless otherwise posted and driverDiscoverAmericas must obey the posted speed limit.
Please note that most car rental agencies have a minimum age requirement of 25 years old.