1-800-200-1160
 

Family Adventure

Nov28

Catch Me If You Can

Oct 8, 2014 - Nov 29 , 2014
A Regional Premiere! Fresh from Broadway! This high-flying musical sings the true story of Frank Abagnale, Jr. ...is he…
See More »
Nov28

Gallery Walk

Oct 10, 2014 - Jan 1 , 2037
Presented by the Cache Valley Center for the Arts, the Gallery Walk occurs in downtown Logan on the second Friday of…
See More »
Nov28

Here and Over There: The…

Oct 10, 2014 - Dec 7 , 2014
 An exhibition from Special Collections recognizing the history and humanity of World War I,  or The Great…
See More »
Nov28

Living Legends

Jan 10, 2014 - Jan 11 , 2037
For more than 40 years, BYU students with a heritage of Native American, Polynesian and Latin American backgrounds have…
See More »
Nov30

Half Marathon, 10k and 5k

Oct 5, 2014 - Jan 1 , 2037
The North Face Endurance Challenge introduces its first ever Utah event! Trail running races include: 50M, 50k,…
See More »
Snowboarder

Order FREE Travel Guides

Hotel Photo

Find Accommodations

Hotels, B&Bs, Campsites and more.

Hotels & Lodging »

 

Driving, Utah, Scenic, Byway, Transportation, Travel

Driving in Utah

Traveling by car is an easy way to see the state with scenic drives to take you by spectacular places while getting from here to there.

Utah Driving Laws

Driver License Requirements: 
The minimum driving age in Utah is 16 years old. All drivers must have a valid license. Visitors from other states or countries may drive in Utah as long as they have a current driver license and are at least 16 years old.

Speed Limits: 
On most highways, the speed limit is 55 or 65 miles per hour, particularly in urban areas. Speed limits increase to 65 or 75 miles per hour on Interstate Highways and 65 miles per hour on some State Highways. These increased speeds are only allowed where they are clearly posted. Transition zones from one speed limit to another are indicated with pavement markings and additional signs.

Turning Right on a Red Light: 
Right turns are allowed on a red light after the vehicle has come to a complete stop, except where signs prohibit.

Seat Belt Laws: 
Children ages 8 and younger, unless over 57 inches tall, must be properly restrained in an approved child safety seat. Youths ages 8 through 18 must be restrained in a car seat or seat belt. For a person age 19 or older, not wearing a safety belt is a secondary offense. This law applies to all seating positions that are equipped with seat belts.

Helmet Use:
Helmet use is mandatory for motorcyclists and passengers under the age of 18.

By Automobile

Welcome Centers
For the convenience of visitors traveling the state by vehicle, Utah has five gateway Welcome Centers. They are located close to freeway exits at key entry points to the state and provide free travel information, restrooms, and pay phones.
I-15 southbound near Brigham City in Northern Utah, call (435) 744-5567.
I-80 westbound near Echo Junction in Northern Utah, call (435) 336-2588.
I-15 northbound in Southwestern Utah, St. George Welcome Center, 1835 Convention Center Dr., St. George 84790, call (435) 634-5747.
I-70 westbound near Thompson Springs in Eastern Utah, call (435) 285-2234.
US-40 in Jensen (near Vernal) in Northeastern Utah, call (435) 789-4002.

Car and RV Rentals
If you don't drive to Utah, you may want to rent a car or recreational vehicle to get you to Utah's scenic, historic, and recreation areas. All major car rental agencies operate offices at the Salt Lake International Airport, and many have rental desks at major hotels. You can also find rental agencies in many of Utah's larger cities, but Salt Lake City has the greatest selection available. If you plan any off-highway or backroad adventures, a four-wheel drive vehicle is recommended. RVs and campers are also a great way to see the state. For a full listing of auto and RV rental agencies and services, visit www.utah.com/transportation.

Bookmark and Share
64°
Mostly Cloudy
64° F Mostly Cloudy
Nov 28
h 59°    L 43°
Utah Store Winter   Mighty 5 Landing Bug